Birmingham City is a professional football club that currently competes in the English Football League Championship or otherwise known as the second tier of English football. The Midlands side has 145 years of history behind it which is full of ups and downs since being formed in 1875 as Small Heath Alliance before later being renamed Birmingham City in 1943. Birmingham City currently plays their home game fixtures at St Andrew’s which holds a capacity of 29,409 and for the 2019/20 season are sharing their ground with Coventry City. Birmingham City are commonly referred to as ‘The Blues’ which is mainly a reference to their home kit colours. Trillion Trophy Asia are the current owners of Birmingham City while David Gold sits as the clubs chairman. Pep Clotet currently manages Birmingham City while beforehand he worked as the clubs assistant.


Birmingham City finds themselves currently competing in the second tier of English football which is also known as the EFL Championship. In the past, Birmingham City have enjoyed various stints in the Premier League with their longest run lasting four seasons from 2002 to 2006. During these four seasons, Birmingham managed to achieve the best finishing position of 10th. Following their relegation season in 2006, the Blues returned to the Championship for just one season before gaining automatic promotion after finishing in 2nd place the following season. However, City would only last one season on their return to the Premier League before being relegated again. Once again though, they managed to return to the top flight of English football in 2009 where they remained for two seasons and went onto to win their second Football League Cup in the 2010/11 season.


Frank Womack remains the most capped Birmingham City player, after featuring in 491 matches for his side between 1908 and 1928. Gil Merrick follows in a close second with 485 games under his belt between 1946 and 1959. Birmingham City’s goalscoring record is held by Joe Bradford who bagged 249 league goals between 1920 and 1935. The Blues recorded their biggest victory against 1899 against Nottingham Forest who they beat 12-0.

Birmingham City Honours



Second Division / Division One / The Championship (level 2)


  • Champions: 1892–93, 1920–21, 1947–48, 1954–55
  • Runners-up: 1893–94, 1900–01, 1902–03, 1971–72, 1984–85, 2006–07, 2008–09
  • Play-off winners: 2001–02


Third Division / Division Two (level 3)


  • Champions: 1994–95
  • Runners-up: 1991–92




FA Cup


  • Runners-up: 1930–31, 1955–56


Football League Cup


  • Winners: 1962–63, 2010–11
  • Runners-up: 2000–01


Inter-Cities Fairs Cup


  • Runners-up: 1958–60, 1960–61


If you like your football news then head over to Squawka.